On Tuesday Last week we went to a local botanic garden to learn about the traditional plants and their purpose in traditional medicine. We saw plants that were used for muscle pain and anti-inflammatory purposes. Here is a picture of a plant called Poleo, which is used to cure hangovers and to relieve stomach pain.
Here are the vines of the Guamuchil tree (shown is brown in the picture). These vines are used to settle someone's stomach or help with digestive issues.
Here is what real corn looks like. The corn cob was only about as big as my thumb. It just goes to show you how much genetic altering we have done to this plant to make it what it is today. Also, it made me question all the images of indians giving pilgrims big cobs of corn for thanksgiving haha.
In the past, the bark of this tree was placed in a hot bath with the patient to help lower the patient's temperature and it also was used to eliminate scars.
This tree is called the Tree of the Birth of Marriage because, traditionally, newlywed couples would have to close their eyes and cut off a brach of this spiny tree. Then, based on how many spines were present on that tree, that would be how many issues in their marriage they would have to overcome. 
The coolest part about this garden was the irrigation system. The simplest part to this system was these huge wells that had channels attached to them so the plants could always have water.
The next part to this system was the way they gathered the rainfall water. Notice the continuous protrusions of stone from the roof of the building and the open rock beds or bricks at the base. When it rained, the water would flow off the roof and be minimally filtered by these beds at the base. Then, little channels under the ground would distribute the water to wherever it was needed.
I thought this was a cool picture because it looks as if several octopus are trying to grab us as we walk by. Also notice one of the many water channels on the ground where the water can travel.
Here is the well anticipated forest of cactus that I knew everyone was waiting for. I love this picture because it looks like the entrance to the wizard's palace in the wi
Here is the clinic where I spent 3 days last week. Unfortunately, the doctor wasn't feeling good and wouldn't let us shadow him. So instead, we were stuck doing helping the nurses take blood pressures and heart rates for three days. We also watched a dentist appointment and a psychology counseling but, overall, I was disappointed with my experience there.
Here is a picture of me and my partner, Carolina, with the two nurses that we helped. Something I have noticed and been unable to figure out is the nurses never smile. I don't know if it is just coincidence or if it is a cultural sign of inferiority or what.
After clinic on friday we had a tamale barbecue. We didn't do any barbecuing but everyone's host families came and brought all different types of tamales. My host mom is in the white and her granddaughter is next to her. It was a nice way to say thank you to everyone and to meet more families that our friends are staying with.
Here is a picture of part of my host family. They have all been very nice and our host mom worries about us as if we were her own children. Also, out of all the tamales that were there, my host mom's were the best and I am not saying that just cause I live with her. She was the only one to run out of tamales. I had four of her salsa verde tamales. They were delicious.
Friday evening we heard of a costume contest going on in one of the local clubs so we all threw together cheap costumes and made it our own halloween night. I went for a cheap pirate costume because I bought a Mexican Classical guitar and I was trying not to go too far over my budget for that week.
Here is a bigger group picture with some more costumes. My good friend, John, bought a fluffy pumpkin costume haha. He didn't win the contest, but his roommate, Ngabo, was a Luchador and won. I personally think he won because he was wearing skin tight tights and he stuffed his crotch haha. 

For our last week, we were busy participating in the festivities of Dia De Los Muertos. It was a very busy week and stay tuned for a full post just on this holiday. I should be done with it sometime at the end of this week. Thanks again and please comment.
Irma Albright
11/14/2011 03:06:37 pm

We had a guamuchil tree in our backyard "corral" in our home in Mexico. Your blog is the first time anyone else besides my family has mentioned that tree.

Reply



Leave a Reply.