Bienvenidos, which means welcome in Spanish. My name is Jason Andrade and this is my blog for my 11-week trip to Mexico. The program I am with will allow us, not only to see the nearby sights; but also, to take global health classes, cultural classes (like salsa and pottery making), Spanish classes, and we even get to work in a hospital for six hours each day. I know, it sounds very busy, and it will be, but I will do my best to take as much pictures as possible.

I look forward to sharing my trip with all of you.
Adios, and look for more to come!!!!

-Jason
Picture
Picture
Picture
It’s never easy saying goodbye to your loved ones at the airport. Especially, when your flight is at 12:40 in the morning and everyone just wants to go home and go to sleep. But I honestly couldn’t have mustard up the courage to even go on this trip without the love and support from my family and friends.

My entire family came to the airport to see me off. Justin came from Davis with my girlfriend, Hilary. Ryan came from San Jose even though Kristina was unable to come with him because of obligations to a wedding. And my parents and Nicole drove with me from Hollister despite Nikki having a soccer game at 8 am the next morning. Thank you all so much.

Picture
Here we are at the terminal waiting for our flight. It turns out one of the people in our group turned 21 at midnight. So being welcoming college students, a few of the other members got a small bottle of wine for everyone to share. Unfortunately, alcohol was not permitted at the terminal and we all had to get talked to by one of the airport marshals. HAHA OOPS!! Good way to start the trip right?
Picture
Here is my good friend, Paul, and I on the plane at 1:30 in the morning trying to calm our excitement so we can get some sleep.
Picture
Picture
Here are some of the amazing views from my window as we fly over Mexico on our way to Oaxaca.
Picture
Picture
Here is my house (the purple one) and my room where I will be spending the next few months in Mexico. It is huge!!! The room and house are very nice.
Picture
This is our view from our balcony. Behind the house is a walkway into town, which they call the escalator stairs and many locals use them for running. I got up and ran them early yesterday and my calves are super sore. lol   
Picture
The night we arrived they took us to the town square where they were having a festival. The town square surrounds the catholic cathedral and one of the coolest parts of the night was when they did a light show that was projected onto the side of the cathedral. I was so amazing and it looked like the cathedral actually had real people moving on it.
9/19/2011 01:07:33 pm

So happy you made it safely and I hope you have the time of your life! Yes you will definitely be missed and thought of often! I love you and I look forward to reading your blog keep the pictures coming! So neat!

xoxo,
Kristina

Reply
Mom
9/19/2011 02:40:58 pm

This is so awesome. reading and seeing all those wonderful pictures is so wonderful. makes me almost feel like I am there with you. Thanks so much for sharing. believe me I will be checking it everyday to see all your new adventures. love you sonshine

Reply
Jen Andrade
9/21/2011 02:24:23 pm

What an amazing opportunity! Look forward to living vicariously through your adventures, keep the pictures coming! ;)

Reply



Leave a Reply.