This past weekend was another busy weekend full of events. We got up at 6am and left for a 2-3 hour drive into the Oaxacan mountains. 
After stopping for a quick bite of breakfast, we stopped at house that specializes in making Molinillos. Molinillos are very traditional and cultural tools that have been used for years. Look at all the detail and skill put into these oversized rattles. What is funny is you would think these intricate pieces must have a complex purpose, but they are actually just extravagant wisks  used for mixing things haha. Regardless of their simple purpose, they are very interesting and appealing to the eye, so I bought one. I feel like it is something that can remind me of the trip and also make me look more cultured when company comes to visit.
Here is one of the many cabins in the mountains, were  we stayed over the weekend. The views were amazing from every angle. Whatever direction you looked there were rolling green mountains and thick white clouds. 
This is a picture of the center area of the cabins. This is where we learned about traditional medicine in Mexico and how it applies to the medicine they provide today. This is also where we had a bonfire at night. We sat around the fire and roasted marshmallows while listening to a 12 acoustic guitar live band. It was really fun and after the band finished playing, they let me play four song on one of their guitars. It soon turned into karaoke as I played the music of popular songs and everyone else sang. I was told one of my friends video taped it so if I get ahold of that footage I'll make sure to post it.
After our lecture on traditional medicine we went to an actual place where these practices were offered. They asked someone to participate in the traditional medicine technique called limpia; and, thinking it would be harmless, I volunteered. I spent the next five minutes getting beat by some weeds and tickled with and egg. If that wasn't enough, the person then took a mouthful of Mezcal and spit it into my shirt, on my chest and back. It was kind of ironic that they called it a Limpia seeing as, at the end, I had grass stains everywhere and smelt like hard alcohol haha.
After torturing me, they crack the egg into a glass of water and depending on the amount of bubbles that rise up, tells you what evil you have released from your body. Apparently I released my guilt and a grudge that I was holding against a friend.
Here is one of the many beautiful views that surrounded us. There were so many that I struggled to choose which one to include in this post.
Once I was rid of all my evil spirits, we went on a hike into some dark and scary caves, probably so I could get some new evil spirits, like distrust and panic haha. 
Don't let the flash full you. These caves were pitch dark and soundless. Also, this was one of the more spacious walkways we walked/climbed through. At one point we had to climb up a slippery wet ladder to continue on. 
While in the caves, we often stopped and the guide would show us cool shadows and rock formations that resemble things. This is a picture of a rock that looks like a clown. We stopped and did this every five minutes. It makes you wonder how much time that tour guide has spent in those caves.
Here is a picture where we ate dinner. It was a nice outdoor restaurant that sat next to a stream. You can also see the platform in the upper left corner where we zip-lined across the river. It was a nice desert after we ate.
The next day we woke up, had a big breakfast, and got ready for another full day of adventure. Here is another old church of which the town of Capulalpam was built around. And below the picture of the church is the view from the entrance door of the church. Almost makes you feel like your in heaven looking over the earth.
After visiting the church, we went on a very interesting and Mexico-unique ride in the back of a truck to the top of the highest peak in the surrounding area. We fit 28 people in the back of that truck and held on tightly as we drove for an hour in rough terrain.
The ride turned into a game as we ducked under oncoming branches and tried not to fall off when going through the frequent pothole. Here is a short clip of our roller coaster ride.
When we arrived at our destination, these were the types of tries that surrounded us. Up there, it was very moist and everything was covered in moss. 
At the peak, we were 3150 meters above sea level and could see the clouds below us move through the lower mountains. After a very busy weekend, we returned home in the late evening on sunday and recovered for what I am sure will be another exciting week in Mexico. Thanks for following.
Dad
10/13/2011 02:41:42 pm

Jason I'm really enjoying Mexico with you,thanks for sharing.
Love Dad

Reply
Jen Andrade
10/14/2011 10:44:22 am

Incredible experiences, I'm so into this program and your blog! Always a treat to read.

Reply
Kristina Leal
10/15/2011 09:49:41 am

Hay Jason! I hope you are having the time of your life! We think and talk about you often!! I miss you and am so proud of you! Your blog is really neat and I love seeing all your pictures! Love you Bud and take care of yourself!

hugs K

Reply



Leave a Reply.